Cars with Antennas


The HAM-Radio hobby can be also run very nicely in a car. Therefor you need "proper" aerials:

My first car was a Volkswagen VW 1600-L of which I couldn't find any usable pictures. Due to it's quite massive chrome bumpers you could mount long quarter wave whip antennas such as the FMA-1 for the CB - 11meter Band.
VW Glof in Winter VW Golf in Winter
These pictures are dated from winter 1986 with lots of snow. This was my second car a VW Golf (Rabbit). On the roof a stacked UHF Antenna and a 5/8λ antenna for the 144 MHz band.
BMW 320 with Antennas BMW 320 with VHF, UHF Antannas
Here my first new car, a BMW 320i model 1988. On the left side you see a 5/8λ and on the right hand a stacked UHF antenna which usually was designed for the German C-Net cellular network.

BMW 520 with Antennas BMW 520 with Antennas
On left side one of the two red BMW 520 model 1991. On the right side you see also a BMW 520 model 1998. You clearly can see the silver reflecting double-glass windows. On all company cars I had antennas for the 88MHz, VHF and UHF band. A duo-band-antenna for UHF and SHF on the roof.
BMW X5 with VHF UHF EHF Antennas BMW X5 with VHF UHF EHF Antennas
Due to heavy winter driving conditions in my area the "Oberland" in southern Bavaria I quite often got stuck. So therefor the wish came up to have a car which was suitable for winter. So it should be the Bimmer X5 3.0. The only difficulty was the fact that there was not much space between the roof top of the car and the car park ceiling. So all antennas had to be relatively short. On the roof you see for antennas, a 1/4wave for VHF, a 1/4wave for UHF from Kathrein, a collinear stacked GSM cell-phone antenna and a collinear stacked antenna for SHF also from Procom. On the left front mudguard a whip antenna for 4m. A GPS and GSM antenna is invisibly mounted in the roof spoiler. In the rear windows, two aerials for diversity FM-radio reception. A TV, long-medium- and short-wave antenna and also a UHF antenna for the remote-lock and the remote control for the autarkic heating system are integrated in back window.
In sum eleven (11) antennas!



Guestbook
Home
http://www.sircar.de/hobbies/autos/autos-en.html
© 16.Dec.2006, 17.39  open mail

Gunnar
Sircar

DD5KI


Startpage

About me
Hobbys
Job
Picture Gallery
Links
History
About

Autos mit Antennen


Da das Hobby Amateurfunk auch prima im Auto betrieben werden kann sind "richtige" Antennen hier ein Muß:

Mein erstes Auto war ein VW 1600-L von dem leider keine brauchbaren Bilder existieren. Dank seiner damals noch sehr massiven Chromstoßstange ließen sich dort sehr lange Antennen "anklemmen" z.b. die FMA-1 eine 1/4λ für das 11m Band.
VW Glof in Winter VW Golf in Winter
Diese Bilder stammen aus einem der früher schneereicheren Winter ca.1986. Das war mein zweites Auto ein VW Golf  I. Auf dem Dach ist die gestockte UHF Antenne und am Kotflügel die 2m 5/8λ.
BMW 320 with Antennas BMW 320 with VHF, UHF Antannas
Hier mein erster Neuwagen, ein BMW 320i Baujahr 1988. Zu sehen sind am linken Kotflügel die 2m 5/8λ und rechts eine gestockte UHF Antenne die eigentlich für das damalige C-Netz  gedacht war.

BMW 520 with Antennas BMW 520 with Antennas
Links der erste von zwei roten BMW 520i Baujahr1991. Rechts ebenfalls ein 520i  Baujahr 1998. Deutlich ist hier die silbern spiegelnde Doppelverglasung zu sehen. Auf allen Firmenwagen waren 4m, 2m und eine 70cm / 23cm Duobandantenne montiert.
BMW X5 with VHF UHF EHF Antennas BMW X5 with VHF UHF EHF Antennas
Da die winterlichen Straßenverhältnisse im Oberland mich mehrfach festsitzen ließen, keimte der Wunsch ein "Winter taugliches" Gefährt zu fahren. Also mußte ein X5 3.0i her. Als problematisch stellte sich seine große Höhe heraus. Die Tiefgarage ließ nur relativ kurze Antennen auf dem Dach zu: Auf dem Dach, eine verkürzte 2m Band, eine 1/4λ für das 70cm Band und eine gestockte 23cm Antenne. Für GSM, ebenfalls am Dach eine gestockte 900MHz Antenne. Am Kotflügel eine 4m Antennenrute für Breitbandempfang. Nicht sichtbar in den hinteren Seitenscheiben und der Heckscheibe sind die zwei Deversity-Empfangsantennen für UKW untergebracht. Eine LMK,  TV und eine UHF Empfangsantenne für die Standheizung und Funkschliessung sind ebenfalls in den Scheiben untergebracht. Ebenfalls unsichtbar im Dach-Heckspoiler ist die GPS Empfangsantenne versteckt.
In Summe also 11 (elf) Antennen!!



Gästebuch
Home
http://www.sircar.de/hobbies/autos/autos.html
© 16.Dec.2006, 17.39  open mail

Gunnar
Sircar

DD5KI


Startseite

Über mich
Hobbies
Berufliches
Fotosammlung
Links
History
Impressum